What did God teach you in 2019?

Thought it would be fun and encouraging to share with each other what God taught us in 2019.

For me: we’re all a part of the body of Christ. Each of us has different gifts that we can use to glorify God and share the good news of Jesus.

This year, I undertook an internship with a university ministry in my home town. I benefited immensely from this ministry during my time at university, and after working for three years as a data scientist, I prayerfully deduced that the time was right to take a year off to pursue this internship. (I had been investigating doing something like this since 2013.)

As it turns out, the internship wasn’t for me, and I decided to stop after one year even though the program is two years. I’m someone that thrives with a lot of structure (e.g. see https://www.andrewjpfeiffer.com/sops for a list of my personal standard operating procedures), and working in student ministry is about as unstructured as you can get. Ten camps or trips away each year, different schedules depending on whether students are on campus or not, a fuzzy line between work and other aspects of life - all pretty crazy!

Nonetheless, I praise God for the opportunity to do the internship this year. I learnt so much about myself - including that I’m on the autism spectrum, which explains a lot - and I’m confident that God will use my learnings in the future. I also praise God that my data science employer gave me this year off to do the internship. In his kindness, God confirmed my decision to return to my previous role as a data scientist: I progressed to the interview stage of an application process for a promotion - even though I was away this year! - and I felt I did well in the interview. (I’m still waiting for the results of the interview.)